• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Remington 5R and the Big Box Special build

carp

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 16, 2012
West of the Blue Ridge, Va.
I recently posed a question to a member of this site concerning the compatibility of Rem 700 take off parts. He suggested that I take bring this question to the collective experts and so I am officially making my first post.

First off, let me introduce my self as a admitted newby to the precision shooting world but I have been shooting for 25 years or so. I have been a member of this site for about a year, looking and learning, but with nothing of value to contribute so I just kept my trap shut. But during a a recent visit at the local range, I ran into a member here and his Gradous built rifle. Ive been infected. So here I am, trying to put together something resembling a precision rifle on a shoe string budget. By shoe string budget, I mean I have been searching couch cushions around the house kind of budget. Things arent going well. I need some direction, so I here is what I got...

I picked up a D**** Sporting Goods ADL special for around $350 new. I planned on needing to replace the bottom metal, but I waned the varmint contour barrel and action in .243. In retrospect, I should have gone .308 but I also need to be able to call my own shots, and thought that a braked .243 would better allow for this. But the ADL metal swap was more expensive than I had expected. In fact everything is. After considering the Mcmillan A1-3 in a custom drop in configuration or the cost of a Manners T3, with bottom metal, and the cost of bedding, I realize I need to start looking at take offs and save the money for FFP glass.