• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Remington 700 223 AICS

fieryjekyll

Private
Minuteman
Mar 14, 2023
New York
Hello. I'm relatively new to gunsmithing and I am thinking of making my next build with a Remington 700 .223 short action. I'd like to use an AI chassis, but it seems like a .223 Remington chassis is no longer available based on what I'm seeing on the AI website. Only a .223 Winchester chassis looks to be in production.

Am I looking in the wrong place or misinformed? Any pointers for where I can start looking for parts for the build? Is it even worth doing? Thanks!

Hello. I'm relatively new to gunsmithing and I am thinking of making my next build with a Remington 700 .223 short action. I'd like to use an AI chassis, but it seems like a .223 Remington chassis is no longer available based on what I'm seeing on the AI website. Only a .223 Winchester chassis looks to be in production.

Am I looking in the wrong place or misinformed? Any pointers for where I can start looking for parts for the build? Is it even worth doing? Thanks!
Just an update. I heard from Mile High Shooting Accessories that the 223 chassis are no longer in production. What are my options for using .223 Remington/5.56x45 AICS magazines with a Remington 700?

Ai doesn’t make their 223 mag anymore. Their plastic mag sucked anyways.

Any short action chassis should work as said above.

Try an accurate mag. It’s my go to aics pattern 223 mag.

Reactions: evilsemaj
Yeah, it's not the chassis. It's the .223 version of the AICS magazine. AI gave up making a magazine for the small diameter cartridge. I can't remember the reason. Find it really hard nobody wanted one. Probably a function reason.