• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Remington 700 in 7.62x54R?

gszeto99

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 16, 2009
Illinois, USA
Does anyone know if the Remington 700 can be chambered in 7.62x54r? It probably needs the long action but what about the modifications needed for the bolt? Can a donor 30-06 700 rifle be used (barrel set back to accommodate new chamber and bolt opened up for the 7.62x54r rimmed cartridge)? What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance.

Gene

Re: Remington 700 in 7.62x54R?

I think that a 30-06 is .308 and 7.62x54R is like .310/.311, that means a new bbl...

as far as the bolt mods, maybe, but I'm not an expert...

the real question is....WHY?

The magazine and receiver feed are not designed for a rimmed cartrige. If a 700 would feed rimmed ammo Remington would have made a 30-30 a long time ago. A 1914 patern Enfield would be much easier to make into a 7.62x54R. The bolt and magazine feed are already designed for a rimmed cartrige (303 British) and the barrel could be set back and rechambered as the Brit and Russian rounds are both .311 diameter bullets. You most like could do a 700 with enough money throne at it but why? Donald

I kind of wanted to do this myself, since I had a magnum bolt but don't really like magnum cartridges. It would be fairly expensive to do, even if you were only planning on a single shot.

You won't be able to use the standard extractor, since the front part of the bolt will need to be cut back almost to the face to allow for proper headspacing. This means you will have to use a claw style extractor such as the Badger or Sako. Another problem you'll encounter is that since the 700's extractor rotates with the bolt, you'll need a radial extractor cut like you'd find on a 91/30.