• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Remington 700 Short Action

oldirtdog

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 6, 2011
Georgia
Hello All,

I am new to register but have been a forum reader here for some time. There is tons of great information from a lot of knowledgeable people so I almost always find answers to my questions by searching the forums. However, I have not been able to find an answer for my latest debacle:

I am looking to acquire a custom built .308 with a Remington short action. A good amount of work has been done on the rifle but nothing to the action. Upon talking to the smith that built the rifle, he stated that no blueprinting of the action was done (lapping lugs/face receiver) because he checked the (new) action and it wasn't necessary. From my research, I haven't really read about anyone checking and not needing to blueprint. Are some of Remington's production actions that good? Any insight is appreciated.

Re: Remington 700 Short Action

Anything is possible buddy.

It takes Remington less than 20 minutes to spit out a finished receiver. It's not hard to envision things moving around a bit with those kinds of numbers.

If you elect to have the receiver work done the decision your faced with now is the additional barrel work that will have to go into it as well. A std. Remmy is 1.0625-16 for the threads. A full blueprint is going to involve giving the threads a kiss as well to true them up. This opens the pitch diameter of the thread and makes the fit with the barrel tennon too loose. It becomes a cascading effect unfortunately.

Your options (if you have the work done) are to have the existing barrel set back (basically chopping off the threaded portion and starting over) or buying a new barrel altogether.