• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Remington 700 SPS .308

mpd809

Private
Minuteman
Sep 12, 2008
Western NC
I had a Remington 700 SPS V in .223 and decided it was not practical for what i wanted to use it for. Today I went and traded it for the Remington 700 SPS Tactical in a .308. I am still very new to long range shooting and wanted to know what would be a good ammo to use in this weapon for law enforcement use. I am getting ready to go to a Designated Marks Man class but I have to have everything with me when I go. If there is any advice anyone can give me on some other things I should try to get or need or a good ammo that will help Thanks.

Re: Remington 700 SPS .308

Federal GMM shoots excellent in mine. Have yet to try the TAP though, I can never find it in stock around here.

I've found nothing that won't hold MOA at 100 in mine, not even the cheepo soft point hunting stuff you can score for $12. Good luck.

If you can scor some FGMM 168 grains would be GTG for LEO purposes. I saw some in the for sale section. However, your department may not okay that because of liability issues. But for general practice and learning your stick, I think it is GTG.

Try some Remington Match 168 & 175. My rifle loves it.

I tried cheap o super x won't shoot good at all. any good quality ammo will shoot great. I hand load for my sps-v sub moa on my worst days. hand loading is the way to go if you want the best accuracy. also where you at in wnc as i live in asheville.

Agree that hand loading is the way to go, but his Department may object to that, unless it is a privately purchased rifle and is not for departmental use

if you dont handload, mine LOVES hornady A-max (165gr IIRC)--> haven't been able to afford to shoot since last December :-(