• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

remington 700vs and newbie

themarksmn

Private
Minuteman
Mar 20, 2012
Oklahoma
Hi all,
Im new to the long range shooting game. I have hunted since i was about 5-6, so i know i can shoot effectively at game inside 200-300 yards. I have a remington 700vs in .308. It holds half inch or better groups, small clover leaf, at 100yards as long as i do my part. I have a simple bushnell 3x9x50 scope, just crosshairs. I also reload hunting ammo and have for about 2 years.
My questions are these :
What are some pointers, using my current setup, for engaging targets out to 600-700 yards? Are there any particular bullets\weights that i should look at? What should i realistically expect as far as group size? I shoot about 100 rounds a month, but mostly between 100-200 yards.
I know those are pretty open ended questions, but i do appreciate any answers given.
Thanks,
Matt

Re: remington 700vs and newbie

Sounds like your set up is accurate and you got the skills needed to shoot it. Not sure what bullets you are using for it but to be honest there is not much magic need to reach 500-600 yards. I say give it a go with what you got and if need be change your bullets to something with a high Ballistic coefficient (BC) and press on. The only way to know what you and your rifle is capable of is to get out there and do it.