• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Remington Action Barrel Swap

battlestick

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 21, 2007
Austin, Texas
I have tried the search function and get a database errors only visible to administrators error. I have just browsed through the list of threads and find info for swapping barrels on a Savage action, but nothing on a Remington action.

I am guessing with the lack of threads that swapping barrels on a rem action is not done by the home smith? If that is correct, can someone please explain why?

Reason: I am going to change my barrel (obviously), and was wondering if I got a Shilen pre-cut/chambered barrel if the swap can be done by us commoners?

Thanks for the info.

Re: Remington Action Barrel Swap

I am still learning by all means.But the Savage threads their barrels long and uses the barrel nut as a jam nut to be able to adjust headspace for each action.But a Remington the barrel is a tight fit on the shoulder of the barrel.So the only adjustment you have is either taking material off the shoulder or off the tenon.Which will have to be done in a lathe.I don`t know but if you don`t have a action wrench and a barrel vise,by the time you buy these you can pay somebody to do the swap.And if you do have them make sure it is right when you get it on because thousands of an inch at this point is a big deal.

If you had a bunch of barrels fit to an action (rem) and a vice/wrench, you can swap away. Every new barrel will need to be fit to headspace it first.