• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

remington sps tactical sudden overpressure symptoms

abadrs

Private
Minuteman
Feb 13, 2012
I have a Remington SPS tactical in .308. It recently out of the blue began to shoot like crap. I have been reloading federal brass with varget powder 43.5 gr and 175 smk bullets. I have been using this formula for a few years and never had a problem. All of a sudden after cleaning the rifle using bore guide, dewey rod never pulling back through the bore blaa blaa. I noticed the bolt was hard to open upon ejection and worse than that my groups were over an inch at 100 yards and normally this was .5 moa on a bad day. I don't get it and would appreciate some help. Oh I should add I replaced scope, tightened all scope mounts and retorqued stock. none of which was loose. Thanks BTW this started halfway through a box of reloads that were all loaded at the same time.

Maybe be some of the reloads got out of spec, change in lot on the powder some cartridges are built different, etc... Doubt it is the gun, but if you concerned take it to a smith.

Last edited:
What other pressure signs are you seeing? If there's excessive ejector marks on the case, you may have too much lube in the chamber, causing the case to push into the bolt face with more force. As a rule of thumb, always dry out your chamber as much as possible.

im sorry forgot to mention I tried a factory box of 175 smk federal with the same poor accuracy but bolt opened easy.