• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Review: Kahles 624i vs Trijicon AccuPower 4.5-30 FFP: FOV vs CA vs $$

RoninISC

Private
Minuteman
Dec 5, 2011
As title states these were the big variables IMO.
I am not a scope expert. My experience is comprised of older Nightforce, Triji ACOG’s, Horus, and looking through lots of random tier 2/3 scopes at counters.
The testing was done on a mostly sunny day, viewing buildings, various urban objects, brick chimneys etc, from 100-300m, occasionally w semi obscuring foliage. I have not consulted specs, it’s all subjective. These were done non-mounted.
---------------
I did not love the CA on my Kahles, and read good things about the Triji—a LOW with great bang for buck-- so went for a replacement. I realized before I sold the Kahles I could do a comparo for people, so this. This may be moot, as the 525i has replaced the 624i, but wth.

Major differences:

FOV: Kahles >>Triji. Very evident. FOV is one of the things you think you don’t care about, until you start peering around for your target at high mag. I appreciated it.

CA: Triji>Khales. No surprise. I guess I am just very CA sensitive, as I noticed it on the Triji as well. The 624i center is decent, but worse farther towards edge you look. Even the reticle has mild CA.
Revelation: The 624i does have more CA everywhere, BUT if you only focus on center, it is not horrible. You can think of the extra FOV as a ‘bonus’, albeit with CA. If you are not CA sensitive, it may be a non issue. I think other scopes handle CA by just cutting the FOV.

Cost: Triji>>Kahles by $1200 on Europtic.

Minor differences: