• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Revit/Sketchup poors, step on in

tea&jam

Master of none
Supporter
Minuteman
Mar 27, 2014
Idaho
Not formally educated, per my last thread ;)

Self-taught Sketchup "drafter", have been pairing it with a Trimble RPT600 (entry level layout station/software). Not impressed with technical support is an understatement.

Current project I'm on uses Autodesk Build, so I looked into Revit and Leica Total Stations. Have been able to talk to multiple humans in fluent English!

Looking for any and all Bearpit opinions on making the switch. Thanks in advance

DSC00065.jpg

pergola 1.JPG

pergola 2.JPG

Last edited:
Not sure of your application, so hard to offer cogent advice... We went Revit for all of our design/drafting in early 2007, truly wouldn't use anything else at this point, but it is a completely different animal from traditional CAD (lines-n-vectors). BIM = building assemblies... lots of assemblies... you probably have 30-60 days of full-time work developing your template before you actually draw anything, at least that's about what we spent. Once its built you really start to capitalize on the efficiencies of BIM versus just creating lines on paper.

What are you using it for?
Residential design/drafting, and feeding pertinent data into our detail quantity estimating/purchasing system. Our civil engineer also designs our subdivisions in Revit.