• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Rifle for a Newbie?

sniper848

Private
Minuteman
Oct 14, 2009
North Carolina
First post here.
I am looking to get into long range target shooting and need some advice on a rifle. I do not have a scope or anything, so anything on that would be great too. I am new to all of this long range stuff and this forum seems like the place to get answers. I have been looking on the internet at many different rifles trying to find the best one for a beginner, I have been looking at the GA precision guns, Sako TRG Series and some Cheytac rifles. I have no idea what would be a good beginner rifle, especially since I am left handed.
Any advice would be great!
Jake

Re: Rifle for a Newbie?

none of those would be good beginner rifles, go with something like a Remington 5R milspec, Remington SPS tactical or varmint, Savage rifles, Or pick up a good used shooter here in teh Firearms for Sale section

First off being a lefty has nothing to do with anything unless you want a LH rifle. Second buy what every you can afford and like to shoot. If your budget is 7k then spend it.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: queequeg</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So you're not really a sniper? </div></div>

LOL!