• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Help, I will be specific with background

ut755ln

Rub some dirt on it
Supporter
Minuteman
Mar 24, 2011
Houston Texas
I have been shooting rifle more since 2020. I have specifically been shooting small frame ARs and have five rifles that I cycled through. A friend told me that I might have fun at some matches so I shot a couple that were listed on quantified performance. What I found out is that I really like shooting at range better then banging steel up close. After a year or two, I ended up with a Radian builder kit with a 16 inch proof barrel and a 1x8 ATACR which is about as nice a rifle as you can have in the gp category. While I love my small frame ARs 5.56 is not a long range cartridge and I have hit my limits in terms or what I can do with the rifle.

My first thought was to buy a large frame AR and I have spent half a year talking to people and shooting some. I have some time behind a JP (6.5 CM) and LWRC in .308. I was all set on buying the JP large frame in .308 and a guy named Kevin Owens came to Houston and taught a class on long range shooting. He was using a chassis bolt gun in .308 and effectively wiped the floor with all of us.