• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifling

Jeremy2146

Private
Minuteman
Mar 2, 2009
Clatskanie, Oregon 97016
I'm New to the sight, and have finally gotten everything to start some longrange shooting, as it has always interested me. I have my trusty Rem. 700 VSF in .308 with a 26" barrel. It has a 1 in 12" twist and I was wondering what barrel combination (rate of twist, and length) proves out to be the most accurate, if any? I've been pondering a better barrel anyways.

Re: Rifling

Get ready for the welcoming party!
grin.gif

Are you new to long range shooting? If so, I would suggest that you save all the money that you were going to spend on a "new and most accurate" barrel and use that for ammo, or reloading (good luck finding components) so that you can practice getting behind the trigger and feel comfortable with it. Once you have shot out the barrel, then I would focus on choosing the "right" barrel for your Remmy action. JMHO.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: NotAGuru</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The heaviest it would shoot would be the 180's. A 11 twist in a 3 groove or 5R would be a good barrel for what your doing. </div></div>
3,4,5,6, poly, all the same results; if done properly!

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Turk</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: NotAGuru</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The heaviest it would shoot would be the 180's. A 11 twist in a 3 groove or 5R would be a good barrel for what your doing. </div></div>
3,4,5,6, poly, all the same results! </div></div>

What?