• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rimfire specific match checklist

Mr. Wolf

Private
Minuteman
Feb 27, 2013
Heartland
Thank you to the members of SH.
I've learned so much from this forum and from Lowlight and Marc that I wanted to share what small bit of knowledge I can.

I did a cursory search in the forums and could not find a rimfire specific checklist or a checklist broken down in sections that included pre-match, pre-stage, during stage, and after finishing a stage. There was a competition focused checklist in another thread but it was not rimfire focused: https://www.snipershide.com/shooting/threads/stage-checklist-shot-checklist.7020301/

I've been shooting NRL22X and PRS22 style matches for the past 3 years and finally broke through with a few wins recently.
Although I am still working on consistency, building stability in positional stages, and finding the right balance between speed and precisions, I am now in the process of helping my children learn how to be safe, have fun, and improve as riflemen in this discipline. To that purpose, I developed this checklist as an instructional aide.

I hope that you find this helpful. If you have any additional suggestions, please share for the betterment of the community and instruction for my children and one day, hopefully, my grandchildren. I welcome your comments and feedback.

Thank you and happy shooting.

Rimfire Match Checklist (updated Feb 23, 2024)

Pre-Range Checklist

1. Clean chamber with Boretech C-4 for 30 mins, 10 turns, push wet patch through, followed by a dry patch ***DO NOT fully clean the barrel down to bare metal***
2. While chamber is soaking, clean crown with Boretech C-4 and clean/lube bolt