• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Ruger American Predator 6.5 COAL too short?

easydoesit

Private
Minuteman
Dec 16, 2019
Forgive me if this is a stupid question, but I am relatively new to reloading and want to make sure I'm doing this correctly. Using the Hornady OAL gauge and comparator kit I measured to the lands 15 times and came out with an average CBTO (cartridge base to ogive) length of 2.0248. I backed it off 0.020 and ended up with CBTO length of 2.0048 and decided on seating to 2.0050. However, when I seat to this CBTO length, I end up with a COAL of 2.6395 and the book recommends 2.800. (this is for the Hornady 140gr ELDM). I am gently applying pressure until resistance is felt on the OAL gauge, then locking it down tightly and backing the case out and measuring. Am I missing something here, or will this work for my rifle? Thanks for your time.

Also, I have been using Hornady 140gr ELDM factory ammo thus far, and haven't seen any signs of pressure even though there are at or slightly past the 2.800 COAL.

Last edited:
Seat a bullet in a empty case to the max coal you found. Shine the bullet with steel wool and chamber the bullet. Look at it under the light and see if you see land marks. 2.6395 is too short.

Seat a bullet in a empty case to the max coal you found. Shine the bullet with steel wool and chamber the bullet. Look at it under the light and see if you see land marks. 2.6395 is too short.
I don't have any steel wool and every place is closed at this hour, so I used the sharpie colored bullet and dented case method and I did it twice and came back with 2.7735 and 2.6835 COAL. The sharpie and dented case method can be found here https://www.wideopenspaces.com/reloading-finding-lands-pics/