• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes S&B 1.5-6 with Wilson Combat 6.8 , w/pics

ccoker

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 2, 2008
Central Texas
www.tacticalgunreview.com
Spent some time out today testing the S&B 1.5-6×42 Zenith Flashdot #9
This is a scope I have been lusting after for several years for my 6.8
Ultra clear glass, perfect power range for a hunting 6.8, cross between a German #4 and an Eotech reticle with a circle around the center crosshair intersection and a dot that illuminates.

My experience with most scopes that anything more than a dot is too much for actual hunting.

The scope has a standard thin reticle in the center and when you turn on the illumination, a red dot becomes protected onto the crosshair centers.

So many scopes have a black dot, say 1 MOA in the center that becomes lit up.

That’s fine at 100 yards but that dot becomes 3" at 300, fine I guess for quick COM shots, but takes away the real precision of a gun that will shoot tighter groups than that.
\
My test platform is one of those guns, a Wilson Combat 6.8 with an 18 medium weight stainless barrel and a match grade single stage trigger from WC.

It shoots .5 with my hand loads of Barnes 95g TTSX and about 1MOA with whatever else I feed it, not the least bit finicky.

We were at the Best of the West range in Liberty Hill, just outside of Austin.
It’s a fantastic new range offering 50, 100, 250, 500, 750 and 1K ranges.

Not just punching paper, but moving and self resetting targets by AR15Targets and Larue, both local companies.. cool.

I did a quick sight in at 500 and 100 then moved over to the 250 yard bench and started doing head shots on the Larue resetting target.
It’s 11" wide and I would guess the head is about 4" wide and 4" tall