• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

SAKO TRG 22 .308 Barrel condition

Snek123

Private
Minuteman
Dec 4, 2022
Czech republic
Hi,

I became the new owner of a TRG 22 rifle in .308 win caliber.

I was curious and who is curious sometimes learns a lot...
I was a little concerned about the image of what I saw in the bore using my friend's borescope.

A professional in the field looked at the gun with me and more or less confirmed that the rifle appears to have been fired to about 500 rounds, as the seller claimed...

Anyway, eventhough me being a novice, I didn't really like how the bore looked much, the other rifles that I had the opportunity to compare mostly looked better and had fewer of these "defects".
In my gun, it is almost all over the surface of the barrel. I expected that there would be some signs of wear, something like so-called "fire cracking" within a few inches of the chamber, which should be normal, but I haven't seen much of this anywhere. :D
What is it? A friend who looked into the bore said that it was simply a normal manufacturing defect and that it could not have been caused by anything during shooting, cleaning, etc. So it must have been like that since the factory!

FOR THE FULL VIDEO:

sako1.jpg
Thanks!

sako2.jpg
sako3.jpg
sako4.jpg
sako5.jpg

Last edited:
Haven't tried. I am not a big shooter myself, this is my first LR rifle. I am yet to buy a scope for it. But the seller claimed it shoots perfectly fine and can hit small coin size targets at 220 yards distance