• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Sako TRG 22 opinions

DShK

Private
Minuteman
Feb 12, 2021
USA
I am new to precision bolt guns but would like to get a Sako TRG 22. I currently have a 450 yard range on private land that I shoot on, but would like to eventually shoot the rifle out to 800 or maybe 1000 yards if I find a range with that kind of distance. Anyways, I am considering buying the folding TRG 22 with the 20" barrel or the 26" fixed stock rifle. Does anyone have any opinions on which rifle they like more?

What glass would you recommend putting on something like this given that I'd like to spend no more than 2k on the glass?

I know that 450 yards isn't very long, but it'd be fun to shoot beer cans at that distance with a rifle like this. I mostly shoot AR's and AK's on that range but was thinking that it would be nice to get a solid military bolt gun to shoot as well.

Also, what kinds of velocities are you getting out of the 20" barrels with your handloads? I'd like to play around with ballistics programs to figure out how best to zero an optic for a gun like this under 500 yards.

Thanks!

Have a TRG22 in 6.5 creedmoor with a 26" barrel. Shoots as well as my custom build Stuteville precision rifle.

Currently shooting 147ELD's and clocking in at 2700fps.

Reactions: Empr_Hadrian
Have a TRG22 in 6.5 creedmoor with a 26" barrel. Shoots as well as my custom build Stuteville precision rifle.

Currently shooting 147ELD's and clocking in at 2700fps.
Thanks for the reply. I was going to just get the gun in 308, but I had no idea they made them in 6.5 - maybe that's the way to go!