• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Savage Model 10 223 woes.

neeltburn

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 23, 2013
South Western Indiana
After many years of shooting PRS matches I decided this year mostly do to the components I had on hand that I would shoot my 223 in local one day matches. As a background, I started shooting tactical/ PRS matches back in 2009 with a Sav model 10 308. I then moved to a 260 rem 700 and then a 6 Dasher. I always placed well and was a decent shooter. So the following really has me perplexed.

Background of the rifle, I had my gun smith build a 223AI barrel this barrel absolutely hammers, only issue is that the savage action didn't feed the AI cases well. I pulled it off and put a 223 Rem Hawk Hill 1-7 T barrel on it in 2020. Got married and moved to a new house and built my gun room last fall/ this spring so it sat for a while and never got a lot of use. June of this year Im ready to jump back into matches. This is where the it goes sideways.

Rifle Specs
Sav 10 Action
Hawkhill 1-7 223 Rem barrel
TBAC Ultra 7 223 can
Rifle Basix Trigger
PVA barrel nut
NSS Lug
XLR Element.
Gen II PST / Gen II Razor

Ammo Specs (after much testing)
Lapua Cases
75 ELD-Ms
22.8 of 8208
Seated 20 thou. off the lands.
2875FPS MV

Rifle shot groups .5 or less when I would practice.

Match one. Rifle is all over.. I can't consistently call my miss. Rezero scope during match, its good for a stage or 2 and then its .6 low. Shoot zero target after match and .5 low. Send scope to Vortex (PST Gen II) they send me a new one. State paralax and zero shift noted.