• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Scale questions

Drvred

Private
Minuteman
Jan 4, 2019
I have a Chargemaster Lite that I have used for several years.
I can throw a charge with it, and then double check on a M500 scale, which will usually show it as light.
I just acquired a Ohaus manufactured RCBS 10-10 scale, which also shows the charges to be light.
But when I use my check weights on the CM Lite directly on the platen, it shows correct.
So what am I doing wrong?
Rick

Yea, need to see what the check weights compare as. However....as long as the scales are consistent in their readings, it won't matter in the field.

For example, let's say you use your charge master to do load development and come up with 34.0gr. You notice your other scale says 34.5. As long as you're always loading 34.0 on one and 34.5 on the other, you'll be getting the same powder charge amount in the case.

The problems would come if you load both 34.0 on both scales. Then one of your charges will be "wrong."

Reactions: spife7980
RCBS blames it on my aftermarket scale pan being heavier than the factory pan.
I will go back to their way, if it doesn't bounce too many kernels out of the pan

That doesn't make any sense to me .How much does your aftermarket pan weigh ? But,post #3 is correct .....I'd roll on and not look back......as long as your zero with pan isn't wondering