• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Sidearms & Scatterguns School me on Red Dots

Hoyt7mm

Bow Shooter
Supporter
Minuteman
Apr 6, 2017
Wisco
Disclaimer: I've been a rifle guy for a while, but just got bit by the pistol bug after shooting a few team events that require more than just rifle. Pistol is obviously my achiiles heel, but I've been working to remedy that. Still, I'm still relatively new to serious pistol shooting.

Anyway, I picked up a P320 Legion on sale and want to put a red dot on it. Based on a few google searches, it seems like I should stay away from the Romeo line and go with something different with an adapter plate. I'm leaning towards Holosun, but A. am not sure which model, and B. am not 100% sure there isn't a better option out there. This would strictly be for the range, some local matches, and possibly home defense. Looking for options at/under the $400 mark. Thanks!

Sage Dynamics on YouTube is a good start. I had an RMR 06 on my Glock and it didn’t work for me due to me chasing the dot instead of putting rounds in the target, mostly due to my lack of reps behind a red dot on a pistol.

I recently purchased a Holosun 507C and put it on my Ruger PC 9, I’ve been really impressed with it and it works with my astigmatism. I’m am going to pick up a Holosun 508T V2 or the 509 when they come out and run it on my hand gun. I just need to get used to running a red dot on the handgun.

Give this a read, good info.

Reactions: Hoyt7mm
Start off with a cheaper Vortex Viper, Venom, or Burris Fast fire, and see if you like it before dropping a ton of money on one. If you find that you like it then you can start looking at Delta Points, Trijicons, Aimpoints etc. etc.