• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Scope Question

Chiller

Minuteman
  • Dec 18, 2008
    Sole resident of Mt. Crumpit.
    Trying to sort out what scope to put on my AR-50.

In that I am new to the ELR world I figure I would ask those in the know.

Assume I put the 30 moa or perhaps the 50moa rail how many MIL scope will keep me in the game to the capability of the .50 bullet.

On a larger question what do I set my zero distance (I am used to all my others being 100 yard).

Re: Scope Question

Hi
    What a great problem to have.
    grin.gif

With a 30-50 moa base you should be able to zero at 100m with most high end scope and have enough elevation to get to about 2k all depending what bullet you use.

I would look at S&B 5-25 and Premier 5-25 they both have enough elevation and are great scopes.

Zeiss/Hensoldt 6-24X56/72 is also nice but you loose some elevation.
    NF 5-25x56 also good
    USO SN 3 and BIG SN 9 would also be contenders.

I am the happy owner of a Premier 5-25x56 and the 31 mils are nice to have for ELR.

Here is a picture of the gen 2 XR at 651m - I am able to see the light true the holes on the target at 651m when I am in the black
    shocked.gif

Cheers,

Master Diver

Jgerspris11112010006.jpg

2000m with the typical 750 gr Amax will need around 22 mils up from 100. I use the 100 yard zero on everything, keeps things simple, you'll be using a computer for the soultion anyway. Using a longer range zero, say 500 yards, will lead to a change in the actual zero range if conditions change much, leading to a bigger challange in getting the correct elevation set for a shot.

I'd run a base with 50% of the scopes total elevation in slope. Given an S&B 5-25 for example, I'd take a 50-60 MOA base.