• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Scope recommendation for my M1A

mole177

Private
Minuteman
May 13, 2010
CA
Howdy all, I have a loaded standard M1A with the extended rail (MA2897CA.)

Goal is to reach out and say hi to targets further than 600 yards.

I was looking at Leupold's Mark IV line...
Is the only difference b/w Long Range and Extended range front focal??

My budget is fair (less than $1.8k.)

I am a total green horn in scopes. I've been using irons for about 3 years. I apologize in advance if I am not specific enough.

TIA!

Oh, and I hear badger rings are the way to go.

Re: Scope recommendation for my M1A

Look at the Bushnell 6500 series good scope for the $$$ or a Burris Tactical, Nikon's upper end scopes are also within that range as well.

Good Luck!
Steve

bump*

Can anyone explain the difference b/w Extended range and Long range for Leupolds?

The LR/T has 100MOA internal elevation adjustment, whereas the ER/T has only 60MOA. The other difference is, as noted, the ER/T is a FFP scope. Hope this helps.

With a 1,800 dollar budget, I'd have to say a USO ST-10 with matching turrets and reticles are the best option.

44mm Ergo, with #3 matching turrets, you can stay under 1300.

I'll second that recommendation. I have one on an FN SPR and it is the best scope I own to date. Leupold is a good scope, but the USO's are in another league.

leupold vx-III 6.5-20x50. I have been using this scope for about a year and some change now on my 700. It is great in low light situations and you would definitely have no problems reaching out 600+ yards. I got mine for just under $700.00 it has served me well.

Wowsers...

US optics pricing are no joke...

That is out of my reach at the moment.