• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Scope Setup - Bergara HMR Pro with Heavy Barrel

Hawkins

Private
Minuteman
Jul 22, 2020
Hi All. I've done some searching around and can't quite pinpoint a solution to my issue.

First of all, I recently acquired a Bergara HMR Pro in 6.5 CM. As the title suggest, it is the Heavy Barrel version. My primary (and probably sole) use of this will be recreation and likely competition long range shooting once I gather a level of comfort with operating. That being said, I am looking at the scope/mount setup and would like to get the opinions of the group. Also worth noting that I am new to the long range rifle game and am kind of jumping in with both feet here!

1) For Scope, I was thinking the Leupold Mark 5HD. Specifically the 5-25x56. I was told and in my readings, it seems that scopes are where you should spend the money and I'd like to stick with Leupold for various reasons. That being said, my local range where I am a member has a 100 yd bench rest, 200 yd, 300 yd, 500 yd, and 600yd rifle range. I'd primarily be shooting here but know i'd like to eventually shoot at 1000 yds (or more). Those ranges are 3 hrs away and shooting those would not be the norm. However, if I get more into comp, traveling and shooting would be nice. Do I have the right scope for what I am looking for? Should I go down in power? I'd rather not be in a position where I have to upgrade later but am unsure if I should stick with the 5-25 or if I should go down to the 3.6-18x44.