• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Scoping out scopes

MeridianNW

Private
Minuteman
Apr 16, 2010
Sunny Central Oregon
Greetings fellow shooters,

I'm getting back into guns after way too long, doing life stuff like college, family, career, etc. Now that we're empty nesters, life is pleasantly changing to a little slower pace.

I'm an ex-land surveyor and have looked through a lot of transits and theodolites in my day (typically 20-40x). I also got into astronomy after taking a survey class on it, and I love my telescope.

I'm pretty interested in long range precision shooting too, but figured I better start with a good old assault rifle, just in case this country's leaders decide they should start thinking for us again and outlaw them. (Long live the Oath Keepers!)

I recently bought my first black rifle and I'm looking into optics choices. It's a Sig 556 and not at all a long gun or precision platform. I was off doing other things and so didn't know a thing about red dots, holographic, or reflex sights or illuminated reticles. But I'm familiar with telescopes and optics in general, and I've studied up on the 'new' technologies I missed by not being into shooting.

I mention all this because I'm demonstrating that I'm in to optics. I like telescopes, binoculars, monoculars, range finders, and technology in general. Now I realize that a carbine is basically made for engagements from about 200 meters and on in closer. So the best fit for the intended purpose is a red dot or low powered, variable power optic.