• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Scuba

smokenfire10

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 25, 2009
Indiana
Just finished and received my c-card this week. I am a firefighter for the city of Muncie and moving forward in my diving courses for rescue and recovery. Any divers out there and if so what speciality course do you have. Thanks, going diving today at our local quarry, damn near dry suit weather here. Alan

Re: Scuba

Hopefully you're referring to an agency approved R&R course. The PADI Rescue course is pretty worthless. If your dept. has a team see what R&R they recommend.

Our Dept. is now forming a dive rescue team to add to our other tactical rescue disciplines.

Our short term goals are to take advanced scuba next month, ice diving in february, and DRAM this spring.

Tom Leaird from Leaird's Underwater Service will be coordinating the training.

Thanks Wanderlust for the input. Alan

Nitrox, of course, and deep helps a bit in understanding the fundamentals of gasses and diving a bit better.

Night is good, because many of the environments you'll be diving in will be of very, very limited visibility.

I dove for years as part of a volunteer unit in NJ. Lots of rivers and muddy, shallow lakes but I got into "dry" suit diving pretty soon after getting certified, it's so much more enjoyable that way in cold water.

Best of luck with the endeavor, it's a great hobby and I really enjoyed the job overall.

Our dept. also is going with dry suits, we just haven't received them yet. We will take a course on dry suit usage, are they much of a pain in the ass?

Thanks

No, they're pretty nice to dive actually. Depends what dry suits they're buying as some are worse than others.