• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Seating depth too short quick question

morning would

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Jun 7, 2022
New Mexico
While I am new to reloading, I have been doing a ton of research. I do not want an explosion near my face to go wrong. I am already ugly enough. Anyways, I was loading up some 87gr vmax in the 6 arc for some testing before I take it to chase song dogs. Hornady calls for an overall length of 2.14”. Well, at well below max loadings, I realized I was loading them at 2.114”. Whoops. Am I gonna die? Should I pull them or is this not enough to worry about? Thanks for any advice given.

Reactions: 338dude
This is 0.026" difference, correct? Twenty-six thousandths? You should be perfectly fine. The book COAL is something most experienced reloaders ignore, esp for precision shooting; we prefer to base our COAL off of where the lands are in the barrel. This typically results in longer overall length; the main concern when going too short in overall length is powder compression, so if you stuff the bullet too deep you end up using up powder volume and have to reduce charge to avoid pressure signs. This then results in typically lower muzzle velocity. However, 0.026" deeper is fairly negligible as far as powder room goes, unless you're at the very edge of pressure already.

Also, we typically measure at the ogive, using a bullet comparator, resulting in a measurement that is called "cartridge base to ogive" or CBTO. This measurement tends to be more repeatable than measuring off the bullet tip (meplat), since those can be deformed enough from the factory to throw off measurements by even 0.010".