• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Seeking suggestions for first scope for a Ruger Mini 14

kellyfj

Private
Minuteman
Dec 4, 2022
Boston, MA
No flames please about the Mini 14 - I am just getting started. No expectations for accuracy out beyond 200-300 yards. :)

I have the Ruger Mini 14 with the Pic rail and scope rings and looking for suggestions for a scope to get started at 100 yards and hoping for higher.
This is the one https://www.ruger.com/products/mini14TacticalRifle/specSheets/5847.html

Just looking to get within a 2-3 inches of the bullseye at 100 yards (not sure what that is in MOA).
Budget < $200 - again first time out so not looking to break the bank
or have my wife notice the money gone ha ha!

-Frank

Hey Frank!

Hello hiders Frank is a friend of mine met fighting all this stupid COVID stuff.

I have already let him know that the prevailing feeling here is that the fall of ejected Mini14 brass typically groups tighter than the bullets fired.

That said his 4 MOA minus expectations are actually realistic compared to the Mini owner that wants to be 1MOA “all day long”.

I suggested to Frank a red dot is a good option for this sort of truck gun/emergency carbine.

They tend to lack any magnification though and with age mag helps.

The other thought would be ACOG but they are cost prohibitive and if eyes are an issue lack of ocular adjustment means you will need your glasses.

I’m thinking @cameraland might have an affordable optic for Frank to mount on his Mini.

I never recommend “Made in China” but in this case maybe.

Perhaps someone has something lightly used to suggest.

Frank what do you have on your rifle to mount the optic?

Do you have a rail or means to accept the mount?