• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Seekins SP-10 gas block mounting question

rmiked

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Nov 8, 2023
I’m new to ARs, don’t own one yet. I like the Seekins SP-10. I contacted Seekins after watching a video they created to show how to adjust the gas block to get ideal spent cartridge ejection patterns. I noticed one of the 2 set screws which attach the block to the barrel, was sticking out further than the other. I suspected only one of the set screws was dimpled into the barrel. Seekins confirmed that is the case. Is this an issue for securely mounting the gas block? I can’t imagine a set screw butting directly into the side of a round barrel, creating appreciable retaining force? The contact area would be infinitesimal because the barrel is round and the set screw end has to be flat. The intersection of a flat plane with a cylinder is a line at best. For people that build ARs here, are the set screws normally both dimpled into the barrel ? I don’t see how a non-dimpled set screw could work. I appreciate any experience here as I am new to ARs. I was ready to buy the SP-10 in 6.5 CM until this design feature bugged me. And then these rifles have become scarce with the store I was ordering from. Back order only right now.

Barrels typically have one dimple opposite the gas port. For the longest time, gas blocks just had one set screw. It was sufficient, too.