• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Self-inflating foam pad for a shooting mat?

noahmercy

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 7, 2010
Sheridan, Wyoming
What's the consensus?

I am just getting into shooting from prone in the field, and the rocky, prickly terrain here dictates something more substantial than a tarp or nylon mat. I also intend to do some predator calling in the cooler months, which means possibly laying out on cold or snowy ground. It seems that a pad with some thickness and dead air space would be just the thing. I'm not terribly worried about portability (no need to stray <span style="font-style: italic">too</span> far from my truck), so the weight of a self-inflater isn't an issue.

Any input?

Re: Self-inflating foam pad for a shooting mat?

Creedmoor mat or another purpose-built shooting mat makes more sense -- and you won't have to patch it.

d_32.jpg

If the ground is as bad as you say 1st clear the major rocks from under your intended shooting position. Then place a tarp down and put one of those camping pads down followed by a decent shooting mat. This will keep you insulated from the cold in winter as well as ironing out the smaller rocks for longer times lying prone.

Mac

where I shoot there a lot of cactus and stuff so I use a rubber mud flap from a semi. Nothing is gonna poke through it. Its not full body length though, its just long enough for my torso. So just glue some heavy material too it to get a full body length if needed.