• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Semi Auto Rifle Lubricants

Why1504

Minuteman
Jul 4, 2011
Southeast US
I am somewhat new to the black rifle game. I got my first modern Sporting rifle in 2008. I now have a collection. It has quickly grown to be my favorite gun period. When I first got a black rifle, I used a light gun oil on it. I don't remember what but quickly changed to CLP but I don't remember the brand. Since then I have tried a list of modern lubricants from motor oil to Frog Lube. Generally with ok to poor result. Recently in another thread, George Garner professed a preference for TriFlow, a product I have used that gummed up 2 revolvers and I have not been successful in removing the gum on these revolvers. After going full circle, I am back on CLP but today think it may be too thick. After discussing this with my shooting partner, our next stop is ATF. Synthetic, with high heat resistance and thin to avoid any stickyness in the lube. Now, a light oil of the trigger is good, what I am talking about is the BCG and it's associated contact points. Oh and I will continue to use frog lube on the bolt areas which collect carbon as it does a great job of stopping the carbon build up.

Anyway, I would love to hear opinions of others especially with lots of experience. I also invite George to post on why he likes TriFlow, and the best ways to use it on a GAP. If others are using TriFlow please tell us how it works for you and why you like it.

Thanks!!!!

Slip 2000 - amazing stuff - no gumming up - doesn't fly off - stays on all the right parts during storage

I don't use CLP anymore unless I just want to out a light coating to prevent corrosion.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk