• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Separating 308 Bolt Brass from 308 Semi-Auto

JSTARSZ

Lefty's Rule
Minuteman
  • Feb 6, 2008
    Wolftown
    I have numerous 308 rifles in both semi-auto and bolt action. I am relatively new to reloading as in I have done it for years but the military kept moving me so much I would get out of practice when I came back to it. I am retired now and starting to get back into it. I have been reading a lot lately and also observing my brass more closely then I did in the past. One observation that I have noticed is the 308 brass shot out of my bolt guns pretty much fit back into my case gauge while the semi-auto brass will not. After reading I found out that I could probably get away with shoulder re-sizing my bolt guns while having to full size my semi brass. I am sure that full-sizing will cut down on how many times I can reuse the brass.

I use a Redding Full Die - Small Base 308 Die

so here are my questions: Should I separate my semi auto brass from my bolt brass? Is it worth doing that or just full size them all?

Also, should I separate my brass by how may times they have been fired?

thanks in advance.

Re: Separating 308 Bolt Brass from 308 Semi-Auto

Yes, keep them separate. I would use different brands of brass for each. Like Lapua for the bolt gun and Winchester/Remington for the semi to make separation easy.

The life between the two will be different as well since FL size will shorten brass life while neck sizing for bolt will lengthen it.

If you are looking for great accuracy, also keep the brass of the same batch together.