• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Setting up Hornady Sizing Die

Rmitch223

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 14, 2009
Oklahoma City
I'm fairly new to reloading. I'm getting ready to start reloading .243 for my Rem. 700 SPS V.

My question is that I see a lot of people setting up there sizing die by raising the ram and turning in the sizing die until it touches the shell holder then lowering the ram and turning in the sizing die another 1/8 to 1/4 turn. I recently took a local NRA certified reloading class and the instructor suggested this method but does not have experience with the Hornady dies I will be using.

In the instructions that come with the Hornady dies it says to screw the die down until it touches the shell holder when the ram is at its highest position without camming over them lower the ram and tighten the lock ring and its set.

Which way do I need to setup my die for proper resizing to insure a safe and accurate headspace?

Thanks,

Ryan

Re: Setting up Hornady Sizing Die

I reload for about 8 differrent rifles and I use the same technique as supplied in your Hornady dies. Never had any head space issues, That is when I am resizing new or fired brass that hasnt been through my particular rifle though. I usually just resize the neck after fire forming to a specific rifle.

I plan on just neck sizing after they are fire formed. How do I adjust the die to just neck size?