• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rockin A Archer

Private
Minuteman
Jul 18, 2020
Hey everybody,

I’m new to long range shootIng and am trying to figure out how best to get a grip with my firing hand on more traditional stocks with a flatter angle and still get that 90 degree trigger control I hear everyone talk about. I was hoping you guys would be able to give me some pointers on this topic. I’ll probably throw a picture or two up at some point for y’all to pick me apart.

Thanks guys!

Put your fingertips on the grip. Push to the rear with fingertips instead of fingers/hand.

Since it’s called a “grip” people think you have to grab it, but you don’t.

Get your finger on trigger at 90 deg first, then see where your hand and fingers need to be.

Reactions: STex

One other thing that helped me was putting my thumb at the ‘base’ of the safety where it met the stock. It was the easiest position for me to get the 90* trigger finger and I could feel where the stock began, so I could put my thumb in the same spot every time.

Dthomas3523 is right. Start by putting your trigger finger on the trigger with a 90 Degrees finger bend. Then see where you grip lands. Rolling your thumb to the hand side of the rifle (Not over the rifle) will help with getting proper trigger finger placement and a manageable grip. For me, my hand gets slid forward of the "grip" on the rifle. I have to squeeze the "grip" between my palm and my 3 griping fingers. There is a large void between the rifle "grip" and the inside of my hand near the knuckles. This is because I have to slide my hand forward.