• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes shooting long distance need scope suggestions

co4life

Private
Minuteman
Jan 14, 2009
Grand Junction, Colorado
Hey I just recently got a .308 custom gun by cactus weapons it has seekins 34mm rings and 20 moa base. I need to know what is some of your suggestions for a scope that will fit in the 34mm rings. Price is not to big of an issue, also what are some features that are useful such as ffp, illuminated rectical, etc., good and bad of these. Could also switch rings for 30mm but would rather stick with the 34mm thanks all the help I can get I will take I am a newbie at shooting long range.

Re: shooting long distance need scope suggestions

well, with the 34mm rings, youre kinda stuck with the big names. nightforce, US optics, and such. if you switched to the 30mm you would have many more options, such as leupold nikon and burris, which all make very good tactical scopes and have a lot of great options as well. big turrets with great knobs and alot of other bells and whistles. but it mostly comes down to what youre doing with it. some questions you need to think about are; is it a service rifle, or are you just hunting paper with it. is it a hunting rifle, or what? answering those questions will help you narrow it down to a small handfull of scopes.

Some US Optics, Schmidt & Bender, and Premier Reticle's Heritage use a 34mm tube.

I like an FFP and Illuminated ret. If I had to choose, I'd rather have FFP as there are other ways of lighting a ret.

Thanks it is going to be a service rifle once I get the correct training right now it will be for punching paper. Also should I go with a 1/4 moa or 1/2 moa adjustments on wind and elevation knobs?