• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Shooting with contacts

jambau

Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 2, 2010
PA
I've been wearing glasses for 40 years. Could not wear contacts back then because my astigmatism in the right eye was too great. Now, thanks to today's technology, I've gotten contacts. However, I noticed that when looking through my scopes the sight picture is now distorted. It is clear but mildly egg shaped. I'm wondering if this could exaggerate parallax or throw something else off. I haven't shot at distance with the contacts yet only 300 yards but I haven't noticed a difference in POI. I was wondering is anyone has experienced this and what the conclusion was.

Did you go from shooting without glasses to now shooting with contacts? If so, your diopter is going to need some adjustments. I shoot with contacts just fine but my scopes are set up as such.

Charnicus,

I'm going from shooting with glasses to shooting with contacts. I've made the adjustments to the scopes. I can get clear crosshairs and sight picture but can't get round crosshairs and sight picture. The crosshairs and sight picture are slightly elongated from top to bottom. I don't know. Maybe the optometrist needs to make more adjustments but I've never had anyone test my vision for round shit.

When I switched from glasses to contacts it was like moving from irons to glass. WOW, what a difference. Fast forward 40 years and it just doesn't matter what I use. No such thing as a perfectly clear sight picture for me.

Reactions: OldSalty2