• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Shortest AR barrel for successful suppression

prairiefire

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 22, 2010
Nebraska
What would be the shortest barrel that one can use as a reliable suppressor host in 5.56. 10+?? 11+?? 14.5"??
I have read about blowback in the shortest barrels and am not anxious to play that game - but I have no experience with SBR'd ARs...

Last edited:
What would be the shortest barrel that one can use as a reliable suppressor host. 10+?? 11+?? 14.5"??
I have read about blowback in the shortest barrels and am not anxious to play that game - but I have no experience with SBR'd ARs...

Are you talkimg 5.56?

I have a 10.5 that has been suppressed since day one. It runs great.

There are a lot of factors in play here though... In short your question is not specific enough I don't think.

That said I think 10.5 is about as short as I would ever go.

Ammo is another factor as well. The ability to run is one thing but effective terminal performance is another.

Shorter barrels do accelerate the wear on suppressors too.

Depending on the ammo my 10.5 is good within 100 yards for terminal performance. Just shooting it to get a bang it's on the money but velocity is compromised a lot.

Reactions: FishinGuns
10.3” is as short as I’ve run (mk18m1 w/a surefire mini 5.56 can and adj gas block). Shoot it suppressed 100% of the time. No issues with 55g, 62g or 77g ammo (my hand loads).

What would be the shortest barrel that one can use as a reliable suppressor host in 5.56. 10+?? 11+?? 14.5"??

If you have shortish dwell length and a low back pressure can you won't have an issue on really short barrels.