• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

shot worse than expected with a pretty good setup -- please help with weakest link

Performify

MRAD fanatic
Minuteman
Apr 13, 2017
KC
I'm going to do a longer After Action Report on the class i just took, but because this might be a stupid question, and because it's going to take me longer to format the AAR, wanted to post this while it was fresh, and while I'm still frustrated.

If you don't want all the backstory and context, just scroll down to the first picture of the gun that follows the bold/underline text, and see the three questions in bold from there.

I'm relatively new to long range shooting. I've taken four long range classes (same class, four times -- single day with a 60-round course of fire, 4x5 @ 200, 300 and 1x20 at 500. Taking the class is one of the few ways you can shoot 500 yards close to where I live). I've shot the course three times with my MRAD (using the 6.5CM configuration) and shot routinely 0.5 MOA to 1 MOA averaging repeatability around 0.75 MOA.

This time out I wanted to shoot my Seekins SP10. Because I wanted to shoot it suppressed, in part, while I'm still waiting for the Thunderbeast can to get released from NFA jail that will pair with my MRAD. Because I had a very good supply of .308 ammo and was running low on 6.5CM, I decided to pair my Seekins SP10-308 upper with my SP10-6.5 lower (the superior PRS stock, and the attachment point for the rear monopod).

Besided fighting issues with my suppressor, I generally didn't shoot as well as I expected. The gun is new to me, and I'm generally new to long range, but still.