• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Shotgun shell reloading....any of you guys do it.

fpgt72

Old Salt
Minuteman
Mar 26, 2019
I am just getting into shot shell reloading. I have done metallic for roughly 20 years and never shot enough shotgun to justify it.....till about two years ago. Started playing a few shotgun games and found it really fun.

Bought a MEC 600jr, and have everything needed but shot, and that should arrive any day now.

The thing that still confuses me is the powder charges. There is no range. In metallic you have a charge that will do Xfps, all the way up to this much more will do Z fps.

In shotguns it just gives one charge weight.

Both the wife's and my clay guns are automatics, so I know I need enough "oomph" to cycle the gun, but not sure how to address this if I have issues.

I have loaded tens of thousands of shotshell loads, none recently(in last 10-15 yrs). You may want to pencil out cost of components/time versus buying factory ammo, according to a couple friends of mine that still shoot trap.\\ Your handloads, if you test patterns... should do better than factory if you can find a reliable supply of components.

That being said, there should be a range of charge weights for a given powder, wad, and shot weight combination.

I think this is the newest version of the manual I used to use. You should be able to load "light" to heavy loads, simply by varying the powder charge. Unless loading really light loads, you shouldn't have a problem with your autoloaders functioning.

Good luck.