• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Shoulder Bump Help

Cosmic338

Ammo will become Currency
Minuteman
Dec 11, 2020
United States
I’m new to reloading and I’m soon going to start reloading some .338 Lapua and I read about neck sizing and bumping the shoulders back. I know the neck sizing is done on a single die, but is there a die specifically for shoulder bump? Or is it bumped with a FL sizing die? I’m just lost on this.

That’s the video I watched about an hour or 2 ago. I did take in a lot of information and he explained everything well but when he brought up shoulder bump and FL sizing, The only thing I could put together is he’s using a FL size die to bump shoulders back? But in that case wouldn’t that affect the fire formed brass, making it not fire formed anymore?

That’s the video I watched about an hour or 2 ago. I did take in a lot of information and he explained everything well but when he brought up shoulder bump and FL sizing, The only thing I could put together is he’s using a FL size die to bump shoulders back? But in that case wouldn’t that affect the fire formed brass, making it not fire formed anymore?
You can size a bit to ensure function and uniform case treatment without taking it all the way back to minimum specs.

Reactions: pfl338
So should I just FL Size my .338 with bushing style dies. I’ve heard Redding Bushing Dies are great.

It depends on what works for you but I use competition Redding dies for my .338. Order of work:

1) deprime
2) wet tumble
3) anneal
4) body only die to bump shoulder .001 to .002