• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Shoulder bump if not tight?

03machstock

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Oct 16, 2021
Pennsylvania
Hi guys, I’m new to reloading rifles cartridges, but Iv been loading straight wall pistol cartridges for a long time. Iv got a Remington 700 vls barreled action in .223. I’m reloading on a Dillon 550b, with a Redding full length type s sizing die, and Redding micrometer seating die. Iv been reading a lot, and it’s come up often to bump the shoulder of the case back .0015-.002” for a bolt gun if it’s tight to chamber. So my question is, what if it’s not tight to chamber? Just keep shooting the brass until it gets tight, and then set up my die for .002 from that and let everything else grow to that and trim it for length along the way?

If it’s not tight it might not be completely Fireformed to your chamber yet. I don’t set up for shoulder set back until the third firing. Usually by then I can feel a little resistance from the bolt lugs caming over.
Ok, that’s what I was kind of thinking in my head, but I’m new to this so didn’t want to assume that. Thanks!

Reactions: Gohring65
Pull the firing pin spring out of the bolt, tap out the cross pin and ejector plunger/spring leaving the bare bolt with just the extractor.

Test chamber your pieces of fired brass (clip it under the extractor first) to feel what resistance if any you get, checking shoulder dimension as you go. You can do the same thing when sizing. Goal is to find that exact amount of sizing where the bolt handle drops freely without any resistance, but that is only maybe 0.001 past the point where you can feel resistance between brass and chamber.