• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Shoulder bump set up on Forster Co-Ax, and a few other questions.

OzzyO20

Private
Supporter
Minuteman
Jul 2, 2014
London, KY
I'm very new to reloading, and I've tried to research this but still have a few questions. Please bear with me.

1. I have a Forster co-ax I got for a song off a buddy who's taking some considerable time off from shooting. I also have the Redding 6.5 CM Competition die set with body die, bushing die, and micrometer seating die. At the advice of some members here, and in doing research I also bought a Redding full length S type bushing die. From what I read, I'm looking for .002 - .0015" bump in the shoulder, but most everything I read involved shell holders that adjust incrementally to aid in setting this. Obviously the co-ax does not have this feature (but it is an option to convert to that I'm not opposed to necessarily). Do I pull the handle all the way down and thread the FL S type die down until it contacts the s-jaws, then start turning it in or out until I get the desired set back? This seems pretty difficult and tedious to do in the thousands of a inch. The good news though is I'm loading for one gun with the dies so once they're set I can just leave them (I think?) and not worry.

2. I have a Hornady comparator gauge. I understand its supposed to measure the datum line of the shoulder, and I take a once fired case and subtract the .002 or .0015" to find my target length. My question here is does the resizing and or firing change where it measures from? Is there a better way to measure headspace or will this suffice? Just want to make sure everything is consistent and safe on this critical measurement.