• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Sierra 5 for 22 LR?

Steel+Killer

Killing one steel plate at a time!
Minuteman
  • May 27, 2014
    32.75259713494653, -79.87485679548313
    I just got a DA Sierra 5 is there any reason I couldn't use it on a 22 LR besides it would be difficult to clean. Do all dedicated rimfire cans come apart for cleaning? Seems like if it can handle 5.56 why couldn't you shoot 22 LR?

You wouldn’t want to shoot 22 LR through a non serviceable can due the lead build up from 22 LR. You will not be able to clean it even with ultrasonic equipment and chemicals. I would suggest a light aluminum take down dedicated for 22 lr.
    Forgive my ignorance I am kind of new to suppressors, but why does the lead build up more with rimfire is it because of shooting non plated lead bullets? If so if you were to shoot copper plated bullets would that solve the problem?

Forgive my ignorance I am kind of new to suppressors, but why does the lead build up more with rimfire is it because of shooting non plated lead bullets? If so if you were to shoot copper plated bullets would that solve the problem?
    It may help but rimfire ammo in general just tends to be "dirty". Lead aside, Carbon build up with them is high. Definitely need a can that is user serviceable. This is why most .22 cans have threaded body portions / sleeves that allow you to easily remove the baffle stack.

I have a dedicated 22LR can (and a Sierra 5 in timeout) and after cleaning the 22LR dedicated can after only 100 rounds, there's no way I'd ever shoot that stuff through the Sierra. Plus the 22LR can is less than half the weight in it's full configuration and it's laugh out loud quiet.