• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

SIG STR 970

Reloadyour9

Private
Minuteman
Mar 1, 2009
Encino, Ca
Hey guys, noob here to the forum. Have been lurking for some time, and have read a lot of interesting and informative threads.

I have been wanting to get into the long range shooting for some time, and was considering a 700P, but came across A Sig STR 970 and couldnt pass on it. as a matter of fact, it has pushed me into the support rather quickly.

Had a few questions. Have not read much on this rifle, and can't seem to find much onfo on the net. Was wondering if any of you had any experience with this rifle, and even better, offer some useful info on it.

The rifle is LNIB with only 80 rounds through it, and chambered in 300 Win Mag. It came with a Leupold Rifleman 3x9x50mm, which I know is not the best of optics. What kinf of accuracy can I hope to get out of the scope and to what distance?

any info on this rifle would be MUCH appreciated.

Looking forward to the new sport, and learning a ton from you pros.

Thanks,
Reloadyour9

Re: SIG STR 970

I didn't have the STR 970 but I did have an SHR 970 in 300 win mag for a while. The only difference is the stocks and the fluted barrel, I think. Anyway, those Swiss made Sigs are some damn fine guns.

Very accurate out of the box. Shot around .5 moa with 190smk FGMM.

One of the smoothest bolts I have ever felt and very easy to take down and swap out barrels and bolts. Just make sure you grab a 20moa mount for it. I know US optics makes a good one for it and EGW makes one as well, for a little less.

Depending on the price I'd say it is a damn good choice until you can build yourself a nice custom. And you are DEFINITELY going to want to upgrade the glass ASAP.

SHR Swiss Hunting Rifle