SilencerCo Radius repair

Piper907

Private
Minuteman
Supporter+
Apr 15, 2017
63
29
I have a Sico Radius that i bought used around 6months ago. It seemed to function/range great when i recieved it and then sat on the shelf for a while. I mounted it to a 223 a couple days ago and took it to the range to align the laser. Ranged the target board just fine and then after 15rnds will not give me a range anymore. Everything else seems to be working fine... visable laser functions, screen functions properly and shows the "ranging" icon in the corner when either the remote or local button is pressed. Just wont show a range and screen continues to show bars as if it is not recieving the laser back.

I might have a pretty expensive paper weight but if anyone has knowledge to share i would love to send it to someone for repair or try to fix it myself.

Thx for any help!
 

stefan73

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
  • Mar 6, 2006
    2,339
    1,931
    CENLA
    I would check in the Optics section. There are some guys up there in the Night Vision/Optics that have a lot of experience. Worse comes to worse send it to SICO for repair.
     

    onetopgun

    Distinguished Rifleman
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    May 6, 2009
    91
    104
    67
    Have you looked to see if there are any obstructions blocking either the laser or receiver lenses? Have you tried cycling the yards/meters mode? New batteries? Correct battery polarity? Have you tried cleaning the lenses with a lens pen? Clean battery contacts?
     

    Piper907

    Private
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
    Apr 15, 2017
    63
    29
    Yup... i thought maybe my bipod leg could be partially blocking it so i took the tripod off and then took the unit off the rifle completely. Battery level was showing over 3/4 but i tried new batteries anyway. I tried all of the buttons and they all seem to work fine except no range is shown in the screen. I also tried rotating the screen... no difference.

    Im currently not aware of anyone (including silencerco) that will service these... which is why im posting here.
    Hoping im not SOL
     

    stefan73

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Mar 6, 2006
    2,339
    1,931
    CENLA
    Yup... i thought maybe my bipod leg could be partially blocking it so i took the tripod off and then took the unit off the rifle completely. Battery level was showing over 3/4 but i tried new batteries anyway. I tried all of the buttons and they all seem to work fine except no range is shown in the screen. I also tried rotating the screen... no difference.

    Im currently not aware of anyone (including silencerco) that will service these... which is why im posting here.
    Hoping im not SOL
    Call Silencerco I believe they will still work on them. Worse they can say is no.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Piper907

    db2000

    Supporter
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Mar 27, 2020
    3,095
    2,226
    Good luck. Report back!
     

    db2000

    Supporter
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Mar 27, 2020
    3,095
    2,226
    I have a Sico Radius that i bought used around 6months ago. It seemed to function/range great when i recieved it and then sat on the shelf for a while. I mounted it to a 223 a couple days ago and took it to the range to align the laser. Ranged the target board just fine and then after 15rnds will not give me a range anymore. Everything else seems to be working fine... visable laser functions, screen functions properly and shows the "ranging" icon in the corner when either the remote or local button is pressed. Just wont show a range and screen continues to show bars as if it is not recieving the laser back.

    I might have a pretty expensive paper weight but if anyone has knowledge to share i would love to send it to someone for repair or try to fix it myself.

    Thx for any help!
    Just to clarify, you are ranging something farther than 20 yards or so??
    If you took it home and then tried ranging in your house at close distance, as I did once, it will perform exactly as you described.
     

    Piper907

    Private
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
    Apr 15, 2017
    63
    29
    Just to clarify, you are ranging something farther than 20 yards or so??
    If you took it home and then tried ranging in your house at close distance, as I did once, it will perform exactly as you described.
    Yes... thanks for checking tho.
    I noticed the same thing... it is acting like im ranging something too close to get a reading... even at 100/200yds
     

    Piper907

    Private
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
    Apr 15, 2017
    63
    29
    So... SilencerCo responded very quickly and said they would take a look at it for me. Evidently their repair capabilities are very limited (im guessing from lack of replacement parts for a discontinued item) but they are going to take a look at it and see if they can help me out at all. Fingers crossed!
     

    db2000

    Supporter
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Mar 27, 2020
    3,095
    2,226
    I’ve had great customer service results twice sending an Omega suppressor back to them after a QD locked onto the can and another time when the finish bubbled up after intense FA firing.
     

    Piper907

    Private
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
    Apr 15, 2017
    63
    29
    Just recieved this email from SilencerCo and tracking info for a replacement!!!... pretty awesome customer service if you ask me... considering it is a discontinued product.

    "Good afternoon,
    Unfortunately with the Radius our only real solution is to essentially grab one of the few we have leftover and completely replace them. We don't really have a way to repair these due to them being out of production for a number of years."
     

    stefan73

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Mar 6, 2006
    2,339
    1,931
    CENLA
    Just recieved this email from SilencerCo and tracking info for a replacement!!!... pretty awesome customer service if you ask me... considering it is a discontinued product.

    "Good afternoon,
    Unfortunately with the Radius our only real solution is to essentially grab one of the few we have leftover and completely replace them. We don't really have a way to repair these due to them being out of production for a number of years."
    That is awesome! Congrats.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Piper907

    kthomas

    Sergeant
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
    Jun 17, 2009
    5,076
    6,349
    35
    Tucson, AZ
    It is... VERY AWESOME!
    I recieved a NEW radius in the mail yesterday. These guys really went above and beyond for sure!!!

    SiCo has great CS, despite what some of the naysayers say.

    Glad they are taking care of you!
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Piper907

    db2000

    Supporter
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Mar 27, 2020
    3,095
    2,226
    SiCo has great CS, despite what some of the naysayers say.

    Glad they are taking care of you!
    I try telling people that on here, but as usual, people keep talking out of their ass about shit they know nothing about. Mainly on another thread but glad this was taken care of.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: kthomas

    kthomas

    Sergeant
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
    Jun 17, 2009
    5,076
    6,349
    35
    Tucson, AZ
    I try telling people that on here, but as usual, people keep talking out of their ass about shit they know nothing about. Mainly on another thread but glad this was taken care of.

    People get overly invested and fanboi'ish about suppressor companies. Perhaps because it's such an investment in time and money, and people want self confirmation about the product they've bought into.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: db2000

    billditt

    Sub Sailor
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Call Silencerco I believe they will still work on them. Worse they can say is no.
    I had similiar problems with mine mounted on side chassis. Depending on cant, etc i got interference from bipod. I mounted it on top pic rail ahead of scope just to chek, problems went away. I then got a mount over scope to make it usable in field. One adv of that is i only need to measure offset from center lens scope to lrf. I got several id mounts and in my case center adj is 2.5”. I am able to move between rifles. I just mount, level rifle, point reticle at ~100 yard point. I then turn on laser, adjust so 2.5” high on reticle and im good to go. I dont use beyond 500 yards so field calib works fine
     
    • Like
    Reactions: stefan73