• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

F T/R Competition Sinclair 3rd Gen bipod review

Denys

Turbulent Optics Student
Minuteman
  • Mar 26, 2012
    Texas
    I had a chance to go shoot with my new bipod this weekend. I have been using the Sinclair Gen2 bipod for about 4 years now and I was intrigued by the adjustable elevation of the Gen3 model.

First the weights according to my digital postal scale: The gen2 weighs in at 2.17 lbs. The gen3 weighs 1.96 lbs, with the elevation adjustment.

I have always considered the gen2 model to be solid and not prone to bounce or torque like with a Harris type. It is not a bipod that needs or even wants to be "loaded." I find it best to just let it do its job.

The gen3 mounts on the rifle the same way the gen3 does, but I noticed the knurled knob of the elevation adjustment screw can leave gouges on your knuckles as you tighten the two wingnuts. Once mounted, it is quite solid.

I found that I could actually twist the arms of the gen3 when I was tightening the leg height adjustments. That's something that never happened on the gen2.

Finally, I used the bipod to shoot on a concrete platform to see if there would be any bounce or torque compared to the gen2. I am happy to say that it performed beautifully in that respect. It's as solid as the gen2, and the results spoke volumes.

I played with the elevation adjustment and I like it very much. I think it's well done and it does make the bipod easier to use and stay on target.

This bipod is a keeper.

Re: Sinclair 3rd Gen bipod review

I was looking at the Sinclair 3rd Gen. I bought a Werks bipod this week. I've never used a Werks but have watched them in action and they seem to do well.