• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Sizing 300win mag?

smokinbobf4

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Dec 26, 2018
So I am fairly new to reloading, about a year in, and was wondering if there are any tips to reloading for a belted magnum? I have read a bit on it and some say do just the same as any other. Some say you have to use a collet die, which I’m not even 100% sure what that does or how it works. I have a full length Redding type s sizing die for it. Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Suggest you just use basic RL procedures and see if you have any issues. Normally none will show up. Belts get a lot of attention, some positive, some negative. It's best just to ignore the belt and drive on.

That’s what I was going to do, just thought I would check as some people seem to get pretty set on doing certain thing to prevent head case separation.

Just bought one of these ... waiting for it to arrive. Curious to see if it helps extend the life of my 300-WM cases.

Just bought one of these ... waiting for it to arrive. Curious to see if it helps extend the life of my 300-WM cases.

I bought one and it works very well. I saved some old cases that I had on the shelf. I'll get a few more round out them

Treat like any other....push the shoulder back .0015-.002 and call it a day :D
That’s what I was going to do, just thought I would check as some people seem to get pretty set on doing certain thing to prevent head case separation.
Thats it, minimal shoulder bump, if .001/.0015 works that's where you stop. Bolt runs easily you're good.

Reactions: mudpig