• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report Slightly confused, a foot low after adjustments?

DerMeister

Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 28, 2011
Michigan
I'm not experienced by any means with LR shooting. 300yrds is the max I have shot and I have only done it twice. The second time being today.

An 11" target was rougly 1 mil, which I figured to be 305yrds.

I dialed 4.25MOA and shot twice. Both rounds landed within 3" of eachother, but an entire foot low. Shooting 147gr NATO surplus. Doubled checked all the numbers and scope adjustments.

I am using an R700 SPS-T with the Houge stock. Could the lack of a free floated barrel cause this?

Re: Slightly confused, a foot low after adjustments?

What load data are you using (velocity, BC, ect), exterior conditions wont play a big roll in POI at that range, but it is always something to consider. Where did you get 4.25 MOA for 305 yards for the given load?

Kirk R

Re: Slightly confused, a foot low after adjustments?

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: DerMeister</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Could the lack of a free floated barrel cause this? </div></div>

Negative. You have something else going on.

4moa sounds right, but your bullet required 8 moa to hit.