• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Smack the Smiley Lessons Learned?

dc45

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 19, 2007
Idaho
Yesterday afternoon I shot my best (by far, almost perfect!) Smack the Smiley target ever, until the 9th round, anyway... But yesterday was hardly the first time I have 'sh!t the bed' on the 9th or 10th round. Now that I have been shooting this match for a couple of years, I think there are some lessons learned (repeatedly) on my part, and I was wondering what some of you other guys think you might have learned.

My personal lessons learned:
1st: This match is all about trigger control. If nothing else, I have learned that the slightest misapplication of pressure on the trigger can flip a shot a half inch or more out to the side.

2nd: Sucking on the trigger too long (more than 3 seconds or so) is almost always a bad thing.

3rd: Follow through is the difference between a good and a perfect shot.

4th: I get mentally tired shooting a nine round string! Some of this may be recoil sensitivity, although an 18 pound 6mm with a brake sure don’t kick much… Maybe it is performance anxiety. Whatever it is, it usually bites me on the butt about the 9th or 10th shot.

5th: My POI shifts down very slightly from a cold bore. I have been tracking this for awhile, and I always come up ¼ or 3/8 MOA over the course of the match.

Has anyone else found these or other lessons learned?

Cheers,

DC

Re: Smack the Smiley Lessons Learned?

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I'm thinking about getting back into this discipline/competition. Every time I've done it in the past it has so humbled me I haven't even bothered to send in the target! Your observations will certainly help me out & is much appreciated.