• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Small Reloading: A Beginning undertaken by a beginner . . .

Limedust

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 29, 2012
Las Vegas, NV
<b>A Brief Preamble:</b> I am a complete amateur in regards to marksmanship. I purchased a first rifle less than one year ago; I bought a Tikka T3 Lite on 14 December 2012 which, in retrospect, wasn't the best day to do so. Since then I have shot 305 rounds, and I have made some progress in accuracy and consistency (and have also realized that my practice schedule is close to pathetic). The rifle is great, but the ammunition situation has prompted me to purchase different weights, types, quantities, and qualities of cartridges . . . and that sucks for bunch of reasons. So, I have decided that I will hand-load from here on out. What follows (and will follow) is my attempt to put together a economical, spatially efficient, easy to use, readily available/replaceable, semi-accurate re-loading set-up that a beginner (like me) can get a handle on.

<b>Requirements:</b>
1: Equal to or less than 500 dollars for entire set-up . . . from nothing to projectile down-range
2: No bench required
3: Compact; fits inside an ammo can
4: Few moving, wear-prone parts
5: Simple (as possible)

While the list of requirements may seem idiosyncratic, I have to think that there might be others struggling under the same sorts of constraints; I live in a small condo with no extra rooms, my garage is about three centimeters wider and longer than my car, and I have to budget my monetary resources pretty carefully. After a lot of research--and, no joke, about four months of reading, comparing, thinking, doubting, and wondering--I ended up with the equipment that appears below:

<b>Capital Investment:</b>